Felix Schneider - feider.space

About Me

My name is Felix Schneider. Currently I work with the goal of a dissertation as a research associate ar the Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena. I keep myself busy with classical image processing, deep learning, data science, statistical evaluation of data and scientific publication of my results.

Besides my work at the university I occupy myself with a lot of topics; from music, to sports, and to languages, there is a lot of it. Besides English and German I know the basics of Swedish, Norwegian, and I'm in the process of learning some basics in Japanese. I learned French, Spanish and Polish in rudimentary form to some degree, but never deepened my knowledge far enough. Besides that, I'm a founding member of the Hackspace Jena e.V.

Research

In my work at the FSU Jena I am dealing with machine learning/deep learning and anomaly detection, applied to Middle High German literature. Here we investigate medieval dramas, use and develop methods of Natural Language Processing to find stylistic devices and otherwise interesting or characteristic passages in literature. In addition to Middle High German literature, we also study dramas by Friedrich Schiller. All this is done within the context of the Schwerpunktprogramm Computational Literary Studies.

My previous project as a research assistant at the FSU was a project with the company Continental. Here we were researching methods within the framework of assisted and autonomous driving.

Curriculum Vitae

Prices and Awards

  • 2019 Best Paper Award at the VDI Fachtagung Reifen - Fahrwerk - Fahrbahn 2019
    Deep learning contribution in a paper about road condition estimation at an automobile conference. [link]
  • 2017: Qualified for the "Student Poster Competition" at the OCEANS'17 MTS/IEEE conference.
    Presentation of my master thesis at a conference for ocean sciences, with one of 20 selected abstracts form over 100 international submissions. [link]
  • 2016: 1. place at the ADAS Innovation Challenge Open
    Competition sponsored by Continental on camera-based recognition of mobile construction site signs on German motorways. [link]

You can also find me here

Software I use

Über Mich

$ whoami

Mein Name ist Felix Schneider. Zur Zeit arbeite ich mit dem Ziel einer Dissertation als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Ich beschäftige mich beruflich mit klassischer Bildverarbeitung, Deep Learning, Data Science, statistischer Auswertung von Daten und wissenschaftlicher Publikation meiner Ergebnisse.

Abseits meiner Arbeit an der Universität beschäftige ich mich mit einer Vielfalt von Themen; von Musik, über Sport bis hin zu Sprachen ist vieles dabei. Neben Englisch und Deutsch beherrsche ich die Grundlagen des Französischen, Schwedischen und Norwegischen und bin gerade dabei, mir Russisch-Kenntnisse anzueignen. Japanisch, Spanisch und Polnisch habe ich in Ansätzen gelernt, jedoch nie weit genug vertieft. Zudem bin ich Gründungsmitglied des Hackspace Jena e.V..

Forschung

In meiner Arbeit an der FSU Jena beschäftige ich mich mit Machine Learning/Deep Learning und Anomaliedetektion, angewandt auf mittelhochdeutsche Literatur. Wir untersuchen hier mittelalterliche Prosa-Texte, nutzen und entwickeln Methoden des Natural Language Processing, um Stilmittel und anderweitig interessante oder charakteristische Stellen in der Literatur zu finden. Neben mittelhochdeutscher Literatur untersuchen wir auch Dramen Friedrich Schillers. Das Ganze geschieht im Rahmen des Schwerpunktprogrammes Computational Literary Studies.

Mein vorheriges Projket im Rahmen meiner Arbeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der FSU war ein Projekt mit einem großen deutschen Autozulieferer. Hierbei forschten wir an Methoden im Rahmen des assistierten sowie autonomen Fahrens.

In meiner Position als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter biete ich gerne die Möglichkeit für Abschlussarbeiten. Falls du Interesse an einer Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit in Jena hast - am Besten im Bereich Machine Learning/Anomaliedetektion/NLP/Computerlinguistik - melde dich einfach hier!

Prahlerei

  • 2019 Best Paper Award bei der VDI Fachtagung Reifen - Fahrwerk - Fahrbahn 2019
    Deep Learning-Beitrag in einem Paper zur Fahrbahnschätzung auf einer Automobil-Konferenz. [link]
  • 2017: Zulassung zur "Student Poster Competition" bei der OCEANS'17 MTS/IEEE-Konferenz
    Vorstellung meiner Masterarbeit auf einer Konferenz für Ozean-Wissenschaften, 20 ausgewählte Abstracts bei über 100 internationalen Einreichungen. [link]
  • 2016: 1. Platz bei der ADAS Innovation Challenge Open
    Von Continental geförderter Wettbewerb über die kamerabasierte Erkennung mobiler Baustellenschilder auf deutschen Autobahnen. [link]

Hier bin ich sonst zu finden

Verwendete Software